But of course…. Mallorca!

18 Jan


Okay.. so maybe I haven’t bought you a beer, had the camels shampooed or saved you a spot on the beach (unlike the 2006 Tourism Australia Campaign above promises). ** Reason being is no, I am not in my Motherland, but rather sitting on a brown two-seater couch at 11.43pm, drinking 7up in a beautiful island called Mallorca. There are no camels here and no, I am not Lara Bingle, although, I wouldn’t mind it. Just for a minute.

Where the bloody hell am I, or rather, this place that sounds like a spicy ingredient for an international curry rather than a magical, holiday destination?

Well, Mallorca is one of the Balearic Islands (combined with Ibiza, Formentera and Minorca) located in the Mediterranean Sea. It is just over 3,600 square kilometres and is home to roughly 900 000 beautiful people. I am in Spain, where the typical Majorcan diet consists of olives and almonds (a fact new to me: apparently there are over 4 million olive and almond trees here – umm.. woah?!). Also, the sweet pastry “Ensaimada”,”Sangria” and “Sobrassada”, a revolting sausage look-a-like, made from pork, species and paprika; one delicacy that is sure to leave enough fat on the roof of your mouth that you could butter half a loaf of bread with the build up.

It is winter, so the air is chilly right now but as I look out through my large glass doors and into the distance, a castle lights up the dark night sky. The streets below are filled with tapas bars, coffee shops and during daylight hours, the spanish language fills my ears and these people, are amongst the friendliest and most tolerant that I have so far, been blessed to meet. And even better, we have siesta hours here. Yes you heard me correctly, between 2 and 5pm daily, depending on the establishment, the stores close. For a nap. A rest. Family time. Or whatever it is that makes the local Spaniards hearts content. Imagine this happening in Australia? “Oh I am sorry, we cannot serve you, I need to sleep!”

I am here, living, breathing and working on super yachts (you can read my “About the blog/blogger” for more information). For the now, not forever. BUT, at this moment, I am privileged to travel, to live in a unique location, to have good health, an amazing boyfriend who makes me smile daily, taste-buds (to enjoy the delicious spanish cuisine of course) and an unknown, yet prosperous and exciting future ahead of me. As Mark Twain says, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowline, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Tales of Gypsy will be filled with my random thoughts, experiences, moments, facts and the stories I collect along the way. It will include music for the soul, recipes to satisfy the tummy (and overall health), photography, jewellery updates and inspiration from people far and wide. I hope that this blog will inspire not only my own creativity, but will also evoke some type of happiness within you. As I share myself, I pavé my way… Join the ride, destination… unknown. I am excited!

May my journey continue.

Delicious Ambiguity.

Gypsy x

** Unless you are an “Aussie” this first paragraph may confuse, as my Canadian boyfriend so cutely pointed out when he looked at me with a very puzzled expression. “Where the hell are you?” was a Tourism Australia Campaign in 2006 that caused much controversy. Too view, watch this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rn0lwGk4u9o

Leave a Reply

