Shine down on me… just a little?

22 Jan

“Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine” – Anthony. J. D’Angelo

At this time of year, my internal “weather clock” tells me that the temperature should be really hot, the sky full of bright sunshine and my body would like to be lying on a sandy beach, in my bikini, reading either a good book/ or trashy magazine and then dipping sporadically in and out of the sparkling blue ocean. Please and Thank you. No? Well, not now, but yes, my body craves correctly as I am Australian, so naturally if I was in Australia this is exactly what I would ideally be doing. But I am in Europe and it is winter. The beaches are cold. And worse, I resemble Casper. Scarily transparent on the eye, friendly ghost.

I am inside my apartment literally sitting on top of a bar heater; in slippers, my favourite trackie-daks, three layers on my upper body and I still feel the chill. I swear I feel cold temperatures right down to my bones and as I step outside daily, I resemble a little marshmallow. I wear so many pieces of clothing that my outer jacket is stretched to full capacity and I lose the movement in my arms, they simply just rest there, on the excess cushion. I then try to assure my partner that no, I am not a whinging over – exaggerater, but rather, the cold just really gets to my core.

And to make it worse, my younger sister is travelling through Mexico at the moment and I just received a text message telling me that “she is off for a buffet breakfast followed by a day in the pool bar, cerveza in hand”. Great. It started snowing here yesterday. I may just go and put a beanie on and hell why not, gloves as well. FML. Did I just say that I don’t over – exaggerate, okay.. maybe I do. Just a little.

But don’t get me wrong, Spain is majestic, I do love this part of the world, but it is indeed bloody, freaking cold at this time of year. The winds have started coming from the north and overnight, fresh snow appeared on the distant mountain tops. Brrrrrr…

Yes so like I have said, it is cold, but, we are actually lucky here in Mallorca as the sun is still shining for a few hours a day. During this short time, I try to make sure I get at least 15 minutes on my terrace (weather permitting of course). Sure, I am wearing a full neck-to-toe body suit, but my face feels it.. the rays warm up my heart, I instantly feel happier in every cell and it doesn’t matter what the circumstance, all is wonderful at that present moment.

It has been proven that sunlight happens to be one of the greatest healing remedies that you can find in nature. I truly believe it is because the sun provides the energy that all living things need in order to exist on this beautiful planet.

But what are the other benefits and why does it make you feel so darn “good”?

* Feeling down or sluggish? Exposure to natural sunlight actually stimulates production of serotonin in your brain, an important neurotransmitter that regulates mood. Higher serotonin levels will increase more positive moods, sooth nerves and promote a more focused mental outlook. Grumpy, step outside!

* Overall depression: People affected by seasonal affective disorder (SAD) can develop symptoms of depression in the winter months when the daylight hours reduce significantly. Symptoms can include fatigue, moodiness and a lack of interest in day-to-day functions and activities. Sunshine decreases the symptoms of depression by releasing endorphins into the body (the bodies natural antidepressants). Moral of the story, again, sunshine is awesome!

* Sleeping patterns: Sunlight stimulates the pineal gland which is responsible for producing the hormone, melatonin. Melatonin is one of the chemicals that operates our bodies clocks and assists quality of our sleep.

* Vitamin D: Now this is an important one as sunlight stimulates the body to create Vitamin D. This vitamin promotes absorption of calcium in the gut and transfers calcium across the cell membranes, which provides strength to both the bones and teeth. Vitamin D can help to slow the ageing process, fight heart disease through lowering blood cholesterol levels, offer protection from some cancers (such as lung, prostate, colon and skin cancer) and also assist with osteoporosis, rickets and diabetes.

Not to mention, sunshine –
* Benefits the stomach, improves digestion and stimulates our metabolism.
* Strengthens the immune system.
* Aids detoxification of the body.
* Aids in diabetes.
* Reduces Cancer risk, including prostate, breast, colon and ovarian cancer.
* Enhances Blood circulation.
* Is beneficial for the skin and to improve chronic skin conditions such as acne, eczema, and psoriasis.

**

Like anything that is beneficial and in general, makes us feel good (for example. junk food, drinking, lots of fiesta and lack of sleep), too much sunshine can cause the reverse and then lead to harmful repercussions, i.e. skin cancer and eye damage. Be smart with the sun and use your common sense. Get your 15 minutes a day, reap the benefits, but love and protect your body at all times. Whether you use sunscreen, natural alternatives, shade under a tree or like me, a full winter body suit, listen to your individual body and its requirements and limitations in regard to the sun.

To all my friends and family at home, now that the rains have disappeared, may you too enjoy the sunshine and be thankful for it.

Gypsy x

** If you seek more information on the positives of sunlight, please check out http://www.lifemojo.com/lifestyle/health-benefits-of-sunlight-35071756

4 Responses to “Shine down on me… just a little?”

  1. scarlet January 24, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Al… did you take the photo of the rays of sunshine.. I LOVE it.. it was so wonderful to open my email this morning and see your latest blog, what a gift it is to be able to catch a glimpse into your world.. Thankyou, I love you xx

    • .. Tales of a Gypsy .. February 13, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      You are the sweetest older sister that a girl could ask for.
      I love and appreciate you, for you, just the way you are.
      Thank you for your presence in my life, daily x

  2. Haley January 27, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    My Gypsy!

    You have inspired me to leave my home office and be lured to the beutiful beach for my 15mins of sunshine :)even when surrounded with such beauty it is so easy to forget to actually stop and ‘smell the roses’.

    So thank you x

    • .. Tales of a Gypsy .. February 13, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Hello beautiful Hales,
      Thank you for your lovely message and I am so glad to share the sunshine with you, from opposite sides of the globe. It is one special thing that surely does link us together, irregardless of geographical location. All my love to you lady x

Leave a Reply

