Happy Australia Day

26 Jan


So today is Australia Day and even though I am not in the country, I still feel a little excited! To celebrate, I decided to bake.. Anzac Cookies and Lamingtons for the crew! I tell you.. Sponge cake is much harder to master than I imagined and these little squares of goodness turned out more chewy and flat than I had hoped for. BUT, my audience are not of Australian nationality (Kiwi’s, South African and Canadian) therefore I dipped them in excess chocolate and coconut and they were delighted with the afternoon treat!

I love to bake and below is the trusty Anzac Cookie recipe that I always go back to (provided by my beautiful friend Hayley, a wonderful chef over here on the yachts).

Proud to be an Aussie!

ANZAC COOKIES

You will need:-
– 1 cup rolled oats
– 1 cup flour
– 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
– 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
– 125g butter
– 2 tbl golden syrup
– 1 tbl water
– 1/2 tsp bicarb soda

1. Preheat oven to 140C
2. Splash a little bit of water on a tray and line with baking paper.
2. Mix the rolled oats, flour and sugar together in a large bowl.
3. Melt the butter and golden syrup in a small saucepan on low heat until smooth. Remove from the heat and stir in the bicarb soda.
4. Mix both together, roll into tsp heaped balls and flatten lightly.
5. Cook for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
6. Remove off tray and place on a cooling rack.
7. Eat. Enjoy. Eat more!

Gypsy xx

One Response to “Happy Australia Day”

  1. Haley January 27, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    YUMMO!

Leave a Reply

